It Feels so Good to Scratch

Posted: February 28, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

Writing is a disingenuous muse. A fair-weather friend. Happy to roll off the tongue when the sun is shining, but less inclined to rouse itself from under the covers when a cool temperament has taken hold.

 

Getting back into writing is akin to stage fright. All the lines are perfectly rehearsed but as soon as the spotlight starts burning, sweat trickles down my back and I become fluent in gibberish. I can’t say I have writer’s block because I’ve never really considered myself to be a writer. I’m more a collector of thoughts. A soundboard for lunacy.

 

My writing malaise is seemingly an addiction. I’m aware I have a problem. Apparently acceptance is the first step. But knowing you have a problem doesn’t stop you from ignoring it just the same. Sadly I’ve been swept along by the current of denial.

 

Writing was, or should be, one of my favourite pastimes. An escape from the by the numbers 9 to 5 tomfoolery. My mind was a crack shot at creating decibels out of silence. Creative tangents in a linear reality.

 

The well of ideas is a yawning chasm. The bucket lies in the dust disused and ignored. A reminder that thirst is fleeting. You can lead a horse to water but you can’t make it drink. Still waters run deep. I take a deep breath and dive in. That’s just a convoluted way of saying I have been bitten by the writing mosquito and it feels so good to scratch.

Comments
  1. zsmile1 says:

    Good to have U back. Seems like ions we last “read” U. Missed U terribly. Now hope u here to stay. U. Missed U terribly. Now hope u here to stay.

  2. bibibapka says:

    Okay, I get it. You’re thirsty…*hands over vase*

    • innocent1 says:

      Well as I have highlighted on previous occasions, dehydration is no laughing matter. That’s why I make sure I drink a lot, and by a small coincidence that also helps me to laugh a lot more.

      • bibibapka says:

        Please check out my blog if you can. This is just a heads up of what I want from everyone for my birthday. In July. I’m giving you enough time to ship cratefulls of the stuff from the USA where it seems to be available.

      • innocent1 says:

        How about I just make you a card instead. It’s the thought that counts after all.

      • bibibapka says:

        How about no?

      • innocent1 says:

        Score! Nothing works as well.

      • bibibapka says:

        Stop being a cheapskate and get cracking. You only have four months left to arrange the “surprise” delivery.

      • innocent1 says:

        Relax. You know what us coastal people are like, we’re always punctual and prepared and stuff.

      • bibibapka says:

        Your kind also wear banana hammocks. Now I’m scared.

      • innocent1 says:

        I always carry a banana in my pocket because I think it would be pretty cool if some gorgeous girl ever came up to me, winked, and said suggestively, “Is that a banana in your pocket, or are you just glad to see me?”, and then I could reveal the banana with a flourish and say “It’s a banana in my pocket” and then she’d walk away disappointed and I’ll never get laid and I haven’t really thought this through and I hate bananas anyway.

      • bibibapka says:

        The ones in pyjamas freak me out.

      • innocent1 says:

        Which is why I always recommend going to bed naked.

  3. colonialist says:

    Getting back into writing starting from scratch? 🙂
    btw – Is it deliberate (just to mess with people’s minds) that the nuns in the second sentence of your ‘About’ were blessed with prettiness, or have you fallen into the misplaced modifier trap?

Leave a Reply

