I’m not a hippy just a runner

Posted: August 17, 2012 in My Life
Tags: , , , , , ,

I think I almost died at gym this morning. Okay so perhaps I’m exaggerating a bit there but I definitely had an out of body experience. It’s bizarre how an apparatus that looks so innocuous can lead to bi-polar disorder. One minute I’m euphoric and the next moment I’m wondering if I have inherent masochistic tendencies.

I am referring to the treadmill. I think it would be more apt if it was called dreadmill. Of course I have no one but myself to blame. Every morning I wake up and convince myself that running is fun. Apparently I like lying to myself. Don’t get me wrong there are some aspects of running I enjoy. For example I love going to the shops and buying the latest running shoes or getting the latest moisture wicking top. Yes I realise that sounds sad but I don’t care what you think. Okay don’t judge me, I am but a sensitive, delicate soul.

I would like to say that I ran an epic marathon-esque distance this morning hence all the drama and wailing. Regrettably however I only ran 10km. In my defence I hopped on the treadmill, and feeling full of joie de vivre, said to myself (in my head obviously because I find talking to myself in public attracts curious stares) lets crank this baby up. My enthusiasm was fleeting. After 20 minutes I had to start singing songs in my head just to distract myself from the ongoing torture. Surprisingly Britney Spears songs are rather soothing.

After 40 odd minutes I stepped off the treadmill with a new appreciation for life. From now on I would subsist on a diet of McDonald’s burgers and never do a lick of exercise ever again. I think the trauma had made me delusional. Fast forward 3 hours and it appears my legs have finally forgiven me although they’ve made it quite clear that this kind of behaviour will only be tolerated in small doses and on special occasions. I must concede though that I have been walking around with a smirk on my face. For some reason  because I dragged my lazy ass, albeit a cute one, out of bed this morning I suddenly feel morally superior to everyone else. I’m feeling high on healthy endorphins. I think it’s time I start praying that I don’t turn into a hippy.

So despite my protestations to the contrary I guess I need to make peace with the fact that I actually love running. Whether I’m on the treadmill or hitting the road, it’s my personal form of meditation.

Comments
  1. bibibapka says:

    If I can bring wine in a sippy bottle with, I’ll run with you.

  2. mrsfever says:

    I only run when someone is chasing me. And even then, I don’t exactly go all out. Half the fun is getting caught. 😉

  3. bibibapka says:

    Did you run yourself off the face of the earth?

Leave a Reply

